Author Topic: ISD1790 no output  (Read 2366 times)

rompelstilchen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
ISD1790 no output
« on: February 17, 2016, 03:42:59 AM »
Hi,

I programmed the 1790 so it outputs sound out of AUD/AUX pin but no matter wich setup I use, nothing comes out of that pin
seems everyone is using SP+/SP- but I need a line out instead of a speaker output

I read the pdf like a thousand times, but I cant find something I would have missed

does someone know how to make it work ?

berk

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 387
    • View Profile
    • funwithelectrons.blogspot.com
Re: ISD1790 no output
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2016, 04:59:03 PM »
Which Milestag design are you using? UMT or CORE?

rompelstilchen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: ISD1790 no output
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2016, 04:57:58 AM »
I just purchassed a couple of isd1790 and made my own pcb, but I was wondering if anyone tried to output audio via pin 17 and had similar issues
the only resort I found was to use a pul up resistor, no idea if the amp is an open collector

berk

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 387
    • View Profile
    • funwithelectrons.blogspot.com
Re: ISD1790 no output
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2016, 08:27:06 AM »
Not quite sure what is going wrong here as all the Milestag designs already output from pin 17. Are you using your own software? A pull up making it work is also wierd. Do you have a known working board you can try it in?

Also, is it I a genuine  winbond device. I have had issues with Chinese copies.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 01:45:53 PM by berk »

rompelstilchen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: ISD1790 no output
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2016, 03:39:38 PM »
it is an smd package
no idea if it is genine I purchassed it on aliexpress but hard to say

berk

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 387
    • View Profile
    • funwithelectrons.blogspot.com
Re: ISD1790 no output
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2016, 06:06:46 PM »
If it's from Aliexpress then in my experience there is a high chance it is a dud. I've given up using ISDs from there. They cost 1/2 to 1/3 of the price but 50%+ of them do not work.

rompelstilchen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: ISD1790 no output
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2016, 05:00:00 AM »
where do you buy yours ?

(jesus christ that captcha and these f@#king fields would drive the dalailama completely nuts)

berk

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 387
    • View Profile
    • funwithelectrons.blogspot.com
Re: ISD1790 no output
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2016, 10:36:58 AM »
Last lot I got came from DigiKey. I got so stressed out when I thought I had enough ICs for a build, only to find a batch of bad ones that I decided the extra cost was worth my sanity.

https://www.digikey.co.uk/product-search/en/integrated-circuits-ics/interface-voice-record-and-playback/2556441?k=isd1790
Tony